A new SaaS exit guide goes live every dayHow guides are checked
Exit guides
All guidesAboutLatest guides

EXIT GUIDE

Zendesk alternatives: 11 compared, plus how to leave Zendesk

Zendesk alternatives: 11 compared, plus how to leave Zendesk

EXIT GUIDE

Your Zendesk tickets can leave, but only after you ask support to turn on exports. Your knowledge base, ticket metrics and attachment files stay behind. This guide covers what moves, what leaving costs, and 11 alternatives with their prices.

Prices checked 31 Oct 2026Sources 23 pages, 21 from vendorsNext check 30 Nov 2026See every source

Zendesk exit card

The whole guide in eight fields

Export

Ask support first

Off by default. The account owner asks Zendesk support to turn it on.

Plans with export

Suite Growth and up

Not on Team plans. The API works on every plan.

Formats

JSON, CSV, XML

XML stops at 500 MB, about 200,000 tickets.

Time and link

Minutes to a day or more

The download link works for at least 3 days.

Stays behind

7 items

Knowledge base, AI agent tickets, ticket metrics, attachment files and more.

Contract

Flexible

Month to month, annual or multi year. No seat minimum stated.

Early exit terms

Not stated

Not on the pricing page. Your order form decides.

Alternatives

11 compared

7 have an official import from Zendesk. 4 have a free plan.

Stay if

Your ticket history and reports matter more than the bill. Ticket metrics, side conversations and the knowledge base do not leave in the export. Every macro and trigger gets rebuilt by hand.

Leave if

You pay monthly and mostly need the ticket records. One support request turns on the export. Zendesk says the files take from a few minutes to a day or more.

Exports stay off until you ask Zendesk support

Every Zendesk account starts with exports turned off. The account owner asks Zendesk support to enable them. Team plans cannot use these exports, but the API works on every plan. Once exports are on, Zendesk offers three file types.

DataFormatMoves?What to know
TicketsJSONMovesComments are dropped on any ticket over 1 MB. Accounts with more than 1,000,000 tickets download in 31 day chunks.
TicketsCSVPartlyLeaves out deleted tickets, comments and descriptions. It also drops multi line text, multi select and custom date fields.
TicketsXMLPartlyCapped at 500 MB, about 200,000 tickets. Not offered at all above 200,000 tickets.
UsersCSV, XMLMovesUser XML is not offered above 200,000 tickets.
OrganizationsCSV, XMLMovesSame request as tickets. The link works for at least 3 days.

Source: Zendesk help article 4408886165402, read 31 Oct 2026.

Seven things your export leaves behind

Seven items do not leave with the export. Each card shows where the fact comes from and its date.

AI agent tickets

“AI agent tickets cannot be exported.”

Zendesk help, read 31 Oct 2026

Knowledge base

“No export feature is available for Knowledge.”

Zendesk support reply, quoted by Supportbench (competitor), 7 Aug 2026

Attachment files

The export gives links and details, not the files. The files need the API.

Supportbench (competitor), 7 Aug 2026

Ticket metrics

First reply time and first resolution time do not come with the ticket.

Supportbench (competitor), 7 Aug 2026

Side conversations

They do not move by default.

Supportbench (competitor), 7 Aug 2026

Comments on big tickets

JSON drops comments on any ticket over 1 MB. CSV drops all comments.

Zendesk help, read 31 Oct 2026

Ticket IDs

Zendesk sets them and they cannot be overwritten, so the new tool gives each ticket its own.

Help Desk Migration, quoted by Supportbench, 7 Aug 2026

Macros, triggers and 6 more things you set up again

Records move to a new tool, but the rules around them stay in Zendesk. Help Desk Migration lists what its tool skips on the Zendesk to Freshdesk route.

MacrosTriggersEmail notificationsCanned responsesChannel settingsIntegrationsReporting metricsArticle comments

On that route, attachments over 15 MB in a reply are skipped. Tags longer than 32 characters get cut short. Only the main language of a knowledge base in several languages moves.

Source: Help Desk Migration limits page, undated, read 31 Oct 2026.

Plans from $19 an agent, with no seat minimum stated

Prices below are for each agent, each month, as zendesk.com/pricing showed them on 31 Oct 2026. Zendesk’s page says plans run month to month, annual or multi year. It states no minimum number of agents.

PlanPaid yearlyPaid monthlyExport toolsAI resolutions included
Support Team$19$25API only5 for each agent a month
Suite Team$55$69API only5 for each agent a month
Suite GrowthNot shown on zendesk.comNot shownYesNot shown
Suite Professional$115$149Yes10 for each agent a month
Suite EnterpriseTalk to salesTalk to salesYesNot shown

Add ons, paid yearly

Copilot costs $50 for each agent a month. Workforce Engagement costs $50. Contact Center costs $83.

Extra AI resolutions

Each one costs $1.50 when you commit up front. Each one costs $2.00 when you pay as you go.

Early exit and refunds

Not stated

The pricing page does not state them.

Other sites disagree with Zendesk’s own page. G2 lists Suite Growth at $89 billed annually, while zendesk.com shows no Growth price today.

What the months left on a yearly plan add up to

On a yearly plan, the rest of your term is already committed. Zendesk’s pricing page does not say if leaving early earns a refund. Set your plan, your agents and the months left below. Your team size also sets the price comparison for every alternative in part 07.

Your Zendesk plan

Agents

5

Months left on the term

6
You keep paying $1,650
  1. 5 agents at $55 each is $275 a month.
  2. $275 a month for 6 months is $1,650.

Your order form decides whether any of this money comes back.

Zendesk price record from 31 Oct 2026

  • 31 Oct 2026, pricing page. Suite Growth shows no price on zendesk.com. G2 still lists it at $89 billed annually.
  • 31 Oct 2026, first record. Support Team is $19 paid yearly and $25 paid monthly. Suite Team is $55 and $69. Suite Professional is $115 and $149.
  • Watching. The pricing page, the export help article and the subscription terms, on every recheck.

11 Zendesk alternatives, compared

Prices are for each agent, each month, as each vendor’s page showed them on 31 Oct 2026. Every row also shows how your Zendesk data gets in, because that sets the real work of the move. Where a vendor hides a number, the row says so.

The table is sorted by cost for a team of 5 agents.

AlternativeBest forFrom, for each agent a monthFree planZendesk importKnowledge base moves?
Help ScoutSmall teams that live in emailFree for 5 users, then $25 StandardYes. 5 users, 1 inboxOfficial importNo
HubSpot Service HubTeams already on HubSpot CRMFree for 2 users, then $7 and $20 shown for StarterYes. 2 usersPartner toolNot stated
LiveAgentBudget teams that want the lowest price for each agent$11 Starter, paid yearly, offer until 22 Nov 2026No. 30 day trialOfficial importYes
FreshdeskTeams that want the closest match to Zendesk$19 Growth, paid yearlyNo. 14 day trialOfficial importYes
Jira Service ManagementIT and internal support teamsFree for 3 agents, then $21.50 StandardYes. 3 agentsPartner toolYes
HappyFoxTeams that want the vendor to run the migrationFrom $24, paid yearlyNo. 14 day trialOfficial importNot stated
FrontShared inbox teams of up to 50 users$25 Starter, paid yearlyNo. 14 day trialOfficial importNot stated
HiverTeams that work inside Gmail$25 and $35 shown for GrowthNo. 7 day trialNot statedNot stated
IntercomTeams moving support into chat and AI agents$29 Essential paid yearly, $19 for new customersNo. 14 day trialOfficial importYes
GorgiasEcommerce storesPriced by tickets, not agents. No figures in the page textNot statedNot statedNot stated
Zoho DeskTiny teams on a budgetFree for 3 users. USD price: not statedYes. 3 usersOfficial importPartly

Find your fit

Filter, sort and compare the 11 alternatives

Sort

How prices are checked

Showing 11 of 11

Side by side

Help Scout

Small teams that live in email
Official importKnowledge base staysFree plan

From: Free for 5 users, then $25 Standard
Paid monthly: One figure shown, beside a yearly toggle marked 16% off

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Free: $0 for 5 users
  • Standard: $25 for each user
  • Plus: $45 for each user
  • Pro: $75 for each user, book a demo
  • Each plan shows one figure, beside a yearly toggle marked 16% off

Free plan and trial

Free for 5 users, 1 inbox and 1 Docs site. Trial: 15 days on Standard and Plus, no card.

Add ons and extras

Extra inbox: $10 a month paid yearly, or $12 paid monthly. Extra Docs site: $20 paid yearly, or $24 paid monthly. Envoy AI: $0.75 for each resolution, with 3 months free. HIPAA, SSO and onboarding are listed as add ons with no price.

Help Scout's page shows one figure per plan, so click its yearly toggle before you budget.

Comes in from Zendesk

The built in Import2 tool brings "your entire ticket history", the customers on those tickets, and tags. Custom fields come in only if you map them first. Problem and incident tickets import, but the link between them does not.

You rebuild

Macros and triggers, as Saved Replies and Workflows. The knowledge base sits outside the tool, and Help Scout's team runs a separate import for it.

The catch

Links between problem and incident tickets are lost. The import article does not mention attachments or internal notes. Articles written by deleted Zendesk agents move to the account owner.

Source: Help Scout pricing, and docs updated 8 Sep 2026

HubSpot Service Hub

Teams already on HubSpot CRM
Partner toolKnowledge base: not statedFree plan

From: Free for 2 users, then $7 and $20 shown for Starter
Paid monthly: Two figures shown side by side, unlabelled

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Free: $0 for 2 users
  • Starter: $7 and $20 for each user, shown side by side
  • Professional: $90 and $100 for each user, shown side by side
  • Enterprise: from $150 for each user
  • The page labels say Pay Monthly, Commit annually and Pay Annually, without saying which price is which

Free plan and trial

Free for up to 2 users, no card. Trial: Not stated. 14 days of Customer Agent with a Professional seat.

Add ons and extras

One time onboarding fee: $1,500 on Professional and $3,500 on Enterprise. The user prices do not include it.

Budget the onboarding fee. A 5 user Professional team pays $1,500 before the first month.

Comes in from Zendesk

HubSpot documents no Zendesk import of its own. A HubSpot community thread points to Help Desk Migration, a HubSpot partner, and to Import2. User reports say HubSpot's Zendesk integration logs ticket events but does not move tickets.

You rebuild

Tickets, pipelines, automations and templates, unless you pay a partner to move the tickets.

The catch

The two unlabelled prices and the onboarding fees are easy to miss.

Source: HubSpot pricing and community thread, read 31 Oct 2026

LiveAgent

Budget teams that want the lowest price for each agent
Official importKnowledge base movesNo free plan

From: $11 Starter, paid yearly, offer until 22 Nov 2026
Paid monthly: $15 Starter, $26 Team, $44 Business

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Starter: $11 paid yearly or $15 paid monthly, up to 5 agents (regular $15 or $19)
  • Team: $22 paid yearly or $26 paid monthly, up to 15 agents (regular $29 or $35)
  • Business: $38 paid yearly or $44 paid monthly (regular $49 or $59)
  • Enterprise: $3,199 a month paid yearly or $3,999 paid monthly, flat, 80 agents included

Free plan and trial

No free plan. Trial: 30 days, no card.

Add ons and extras

Extra Enterprise agents: $39 paid yearly or $49 paid monthly. There is no AI fee, since you pay your own AI provider, and LiveAgent estimates about 1 to 2 cents for each AI resolved chat. There is no setup fee, and migration is free where a built in importer exists.

The offer runs until 22 Nov 2026. You keep the price only while you stay on the plan.

Comes in from Zendesk

LiveAgent's own Zendesk Migration plugin brings contacts, companies, agents, departments, tags, tickets with ticket fields, and the knowledge base. It needs a Zendesk API token.

You rebuild

Anything outside that list. The help article does not mention attachments, macros, triggers or views.

The catch

The plugin article was last updated 2 Apr 2025 and gives no time estimate or limits. Starter stops at 5 agents and Team at 15.

Source: LiveAgent pricing and help article 908128, read 31 Oct 2026

Freshdesk

Teams that want the closest match to Zendesk
Official importKnowledge base movesNo free plan

From: $19 Growth, paid yearly
Paid monthly: Not shown in the page text

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Growth: $19, paid yearly
  • Pro: $55, paid yearly
  • Enterprise: $89, paid yearly
  • Monthly prices: not shown in the page text

Free plan and trial

No free plan. Trial: 14 days on Enterprise.

Add ons and extras

Freddy AI Copilot: $29 for each agent a month, on Pro and Enterprise. Extra AI Agent sessions: $49 for each 100. Day passes: $2 on Growth, $7 on Pro and $12 on Enterprise. Connector tasks: $80 for each 5,000.

Freshdesk's page summary says pricing starts at $15. The plan list shows $19 for Growth, and this guide uses the plan list.

Comes in from Zendesk

Freshdesk's own Zendesk import tool brings tickets, contacts, companies, agents, groups, custom fields, knowledge base articles and forums. Users, companies and agents must come in first, or the tickets will not follow.

You rebuild

Macros, triggers, email notifications, canned responses, channel settings and integrations. Reporting metrics do not come in. Spam tickets, deleted tickets and contacts with no email or phone are skipped.

The catch

Attachments are capped at 15 MB, and the help page states that rule two different ways. Every imported ticket gets a ZendeskImport tag, and ticket IDs change. The tool works only on stand alone Freshdesk, not on the Customer Service Suite.

Source: Freshdesk pricing and help article 224766, read 31 Oct 2026

Jira Service Management

IT and internal support teams
Partner toolKnowledge base movesFree plan

From: Free for 3 agents, then $21.50 Standard
Paid monthly: One figure shown, toggle says save up to 17% yearly

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Free: $0 for 3 agents
  • Standard: $21.50 for each agent
  • Premium: $55.28 for each agent
  • Enterprise: paid yearly, price on request
  • The page has a monthly and yearly toggle marked save up to 17%, but does not label the figures

Free plan and trial

Free forever for 3 agents with 2 GB storage. Customers who raise requests are free and unlimited. Trial: 14 days, can be extended to 30, no card.

Add ons and extras

None priced on the page. Yearly plans are billed at the tier closest to your agent count. Monthly plans use the exact count.

Go over 3 agents on Free and Atlassian moves you to a 14 day Standard trial.

Comes in from Zendesk

The Zendesk to JSM Migration app by Help Desk Migration, on the Atlassian Marketplace, brings tickets with attachments, public and private notes, contacts, agents, organizations, custom fields, tags and knowledge content. You pay the app's maker, and the price is not shown.

You rebuild

Automations, SLAs, queues and portals. Groups are not listed as a migrated item.

The catch

Atlassian has no import of its own. The Marketplace listing shows a version from 2018 next to a 2026 copyright, so ask the app's maker if it still works.

Source: Atlassian pricing and Marketplace listing 1218450, read 31 Oct 2026

HappyFox

Teams that want the vendor to run the migration
Official importKnowledge base: not statedNo free plan

From: From $24, paid yearly
Paid monthly: Offered, figures not shown

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Help Desk: from $24 for each agent, paid yearly
  • Basic: up to 5 agents, price not shown
  • Higher plans: priced for each agent, figures not shown
  • Unlimited agent plans: a flat yearly fee with a ticket allowance, not shown
  • Monthly, yearly and two year billing are offered, without figures

Free plan and trial

No free plan for Help Desk. Trial: 14 days, by request through the demo form.

Add ons and extras

HappyFox AI: from $14 for each agent a month. Workflows: from $199 a month. Chatbot: $0.33 for each resolution. Assist AI: from $1 for each user a month. Every annual Help Desk plan includes free migration.

The full price list shows only after a demo.

Comes in from Zendesk

HappyFox's pricing page says "Every annual Help Desk subscription includes free migration".

You rebuild

Not stated. The pricing page does not say what the migration covers.

The catch

Basic is capped at 5 agents. The page says pricing starts at $24 and shows no other figure.

Source: HappyFox pricing page, read 31 Oct 2026

Front

Shared inbox teams of up to 50 users
Official importKnowledge base: not statedNo free plan

From: $25 Starter, paid yearly
Paid monthly: Not shown in the page text

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Starter: $25, up to 10 users, paid yearly
  • Professional: $65, up to 50 users, paid yearly
  • Enterprise: $105, paid yearly
  • Monthly prices: not shown. The page says Save 24% on annual

Free plan and trial

No free plan. Trial: 14 days on Professional features, no card.

Add ons and extras

Copilot: $20 for each user a month, included in Enterprise. Autopilot: from $0.05 for each conversation. API rate limit increase: $200 for each 100 requests a minute. WhatsApp: Meta's cost plus a 20% fee. Paid onboarding is required on contracts over $25,000.

Starter stops at 10 users and Professional at 50, so a growing team has to move up a plan.

Comes in from Zendesk

Front's own importer brings inboxes, contacts, conversations and messages, attachments, comments and assignments, at no extra cost. It needs a Zendesk API token.

You rebuild

Tags, rules and teammates. Pending, Hold, Solved and Closed tickets all land as Archived. The article does not say whether knowledge base articles move.

The catch

Front calls its own importer "not actively maintained" and points to Help Desk Migration and ClonePartner instead. The article also contradicts itself on whether teammates import.

Source: Front pricing and help article 2203, read 31 Oct 2026

Hiver

Teams that work inside Gmail
Not statedKnowledge base: not statedNo free plan

From: $25 and $35 shown for Growth
Paid monthly: Two figures shown, unlabelled

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Growth: $25 and $35 for each user, 2 shared inboxes, 10 users
  • Pro: $55 and $65 for each user, 5 shared inboxes
  • Elite: $85 and $95 for each user, unlimited inboxes
  • The page has an annual and monthly toggle, but the text does not label the figures

Free plan and trial

No free plan. Trial: 7 days on Elite, no card.

Add ons and extras

Voice: $30 for each voice user a month, with 1,000 pooled minutes, then $0.03 a minute. AI agents are listed as included on all plans. Plans start at 2 users, then 5, then steps of 5.

Hiver runs inside Gmail, so every agent also needs a Google Workspace account.

Comes in from Zendesk

Not stated. No Hiver page on a Zendesk import is confirmed yet.

You rebuild

Not stated.

The catch

Plans start at 2 users and grow in steps of 5 after 5, so a team of 6 pays for 10.

Source: Hiver pricing page, read 31 Oct 2026

Intercom

Teams moving support into chat and AI agents
Official importKnowledge base movesNo free plan

From: $29 Essential paid yearly, $19 for new customers
Paid monthly: $39 Essential, $99 Advanced, $139 Expert

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Essential: $29 paid yearly or $39 paid monthly, for each user. New customers see $19, at 35% off
  • Advanced: $85 paid yearly or $99 paid monthly
  • Expert: $132 paid yearly or $139 paid monthly
  • The yearly and monthly figures come from Intercom's plans help article

Free plan and trial

No free plan. Startups can get 93% off through an early stage program. Trial: 14 days, no card.

Add ons and extras

Fin AI agent: from $0.99 for each outcome, with no extra user needed. Copilot costs $29 for each agent a month, and Proactive Support Plus costs $99 a month. The Pro add on starts at $100 a month.

Fin is priced for each outcome on top of user prices, so a busy inbox adds a second bill.

Comes in from Zendesk

Help center articles come in "with just one click" from your Zendesk help center URL, with the structure kept. Users come in by CSV. Tickets move through Intercom's Inbox Migration, which lists Zendesk as a source.

You rebuild

Triggers, as Workflows. Macros, by copy and paste. Help content in several languages needs each language added in settings first. Ticket fields become ticket attributes that you set up again.

The catch

Intercom's switching guide is dated 28 May 2025 and never mentions attachments. Its history import API is labelled "unstable". The company is now called Fin, and Salesforce completed its purchase of Fin on 10 Sep 2026.

Source: Intercom pricing, plans help article and help article 4393790, read 31 Oct 2026Leaving Intercom later? Read its exit guide

Gorgias

Ecommerce stores
Not statedKnowledge base: not statedNo free plan

From: Priced by tickets, not agents. No figures in the page text
Paid monthly: Not shown

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Helpdesk: "from 50 to 5,000 tickets a month", "never priced per agent"
  • No dollar figures in the page text
  • AI agent: paid for each resolved conversation, amount not shown

Free plan and trial

Not stated. Trial: Not stated.

Add ons and extras

Voice and SMS add ons are priced by call and text volume. The amounts are not shown.

You cannot see a price without talking to sales or starting a trial.

Comes in from Zendesk

Not stated. No Gorgias page on a Zendesk import is confirmed yet.

You rebuild

Not stated.

The catch

With ticket based pricing, a busy month costs more, and the page gives no rate to plan with.

Source: Gorgias pricing page, read 31 Oct 2026

Zoho Desk

Tiny teams on a budget
Official importKnowledge base partlyFree plan

From: Free for 3 users. USD price: not stated
Paid monthly: Not shown

Plans, for each agent a month

  • Free: $0 for 3 users
  • Express: 420 rupees for each user, paid yearly
  • Standard: 800 rupees
  • Professional: 1,400 rupees
  • Enterprise: 2,400 rupees
  • USD figures: not stated. The page sets prices by your location

Free plan and trial

Free forever for 3 users. Trial: 15 days, no card, then it drops to Free.

Add ons and extras

Light agents: 345 rupees for each agent a month on Professional and Enterprise. Enterprise includes 50 free light users.

Zoho prices by the country it detects. Open the page from your own location and note the figure.

Comes in from Zendesk

Zoho's Zwitch migration brings tickets with comments, threads and attachments, contacts, accounts, agents, and all custom fields except nested ones. Zendesk IDs are kept in a custom field. Knowledge base sections, categories and translations are listed, and full articles are not stated.

You rebuild

Tags, groups, teams and collaborators "cannot be migrated". Inline images do not move. You set department permissions by hand.

The catch

Zendesk must stay active for the whole migration. Zoho deletes the migrated records from its side 30 days after import.

Source: Zoho Desk pricing and Zwitch help article, read 31 Oct 2026

Team costs use the free plan when your whole team fits it. Otherwise they use the cheapest paid plan that fits your team. Where a page shows two unlabelled prices, the lower one is used and the card says so. Each import label comes from the vendor’s own help pages, read 31 Oct 2026.

Every help desk exit guide sits on the help desk hub, with one table of export rules.

Before you cancel Zendesk

  1. Ask Zendesk support to turn on exports.
  2. Export tickets as JSON, which keeps comments on all but the biggest tickets.
  3. Pull attachment files through the API.
  4. Copy the knowledge base by hand, or with your new tool’s import.
  5. Keep Zendesk live until the import finishes.

23 pages, each with its read date

  • Vendor Zendesk help: exporting ticket, user or organization data · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor Zendesk pricing · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor Freshdesk help: Zendesk to Freshdesk migration · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor Help Scout docs: move from Zendesk to Help Scout · Updated 8 Sep 2026
  • Vendor Front help: import your Zendesk history · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor Intercom help: switching from Zendesk to Intercom · Dated 28 May 2025
  • Vendor LiveAgent help: Zendesk data migration · Updated 2 Apr 2025
  • Vendor Atlassian Marketplace: Zendesk to JSM Migration · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor Zoho Desk help: migrate data from other help desks with Zwitch · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor HubSpot community thread on Zendesk ticket import · Read 31 Oct 2026
  • Vendor Pricing pages for the 11 alternatives · Read 31 Oct 2026. Zoho served rupees, and Gorgias shows no figures
  • Migration service Help Desk Migration: limitations of Freshdesk migration · Undated, read 31 Oct 2026
  • Competitor Supportbench: migrate away from Zendesk without losing ticket history · 27 Jan 2026, updated 7 Aug 2026

Facts come from vendor pages on the date shown. Check your own contract and the vendor page before you act.

About the author

SaaSFerry Content Team

The SaaSFerry Content Team writes and checks every exit guide. Facts come from each vendor’s own help, pricing and terms pages, with the date each page was read. Every guide gets rechecked every 30 days.